Throughout my time doing blogging and articles for the absolute coolest place in Davis, I have been lucky enough to be able to watch some of the work that went into making the newest product of the market.  No, it’s not some kind of hybrid fruit or exotic new veggie—it’s The Davis Farmers Market Cookbook, and in my (very non biased opinion) it is awesome.

The cookbook was released last week at the market, appropriately, but I was able to get a copy of it a few weeks ago. I am so impressed by it.  A big thing for me in cookbooks is pictures, and this book has some gorgeous ones.  The recipes also seem very personal and true to Davis, however the best thing about the book in my opinion is the way in which it is organized.  There are some basic recipes provided that serve as bases for recipes in the book (such as stocks, for example), but otherwise the book is divided into four categories, each one representing a season.  Each season has an extensive amount of incredibly original and appetizing recipes, and even winter (which I know most people find to be somewhat of a barren and boring season in terms of produce and cooking), has some great ideas.

A big complaint about cooking fresh and seasonally, from what I can tell, is that it can be difficult to 1) determine which items are actually in season, and 2) to come up with recipes that are both interesting and true to the season.  The organization of this book remedies these qualms completely, and even makes me want to stay true to the seasons.  I don’t want to give too much of the book away, as I am planning on recreating more than a few recipes here, but I really recommend checking the book out here (and no I have not been paid/bribed with noms or money to say this).

In the meantime, stay tuned for a recipe straight from the pages very soon!

Leave a Reply

