It’s true, I fell off the face of the planet.  Winter quarter at Davis threw me a couple of curveballs, and I was too preoccupied with class (would you believe Chaucer is even harder than you imagine?) and choreographing a dance show for my sorority (THIRD PLACE WHADDUP) and just dealing with life in general, to update anything.  But, I am back, at least temporarily.  To catch up on the past weeks:

I celebrated a much deserved bronze place victory with my partner in crime

that's my girl

Celebrated my Irish heritage with some green beer

laura smith, guest star

laura smith, guest star

Visited San Francisco for a good friend’s birthday (my hopeful future home!)

huge group of girls

And of course, ate and made some seriously good food

THE BEST deviled eggs, at prospect in San Francisco

kimchee fried rice and short ribs at prospect

oysters from hog island oyster co

food truck gluttony at off the grid

the most delicious mac and cheese you'll ever eat (i'm humble)

Winter quarter wasn’t all food and games though, and the reality is sinking in that I am scary close to becoming a real life adult.  It is constantly on my mind that I have no idea what I want to do with myself when I leave the cow-town bubble (novel concept for a college grad, I know).  I constantly bounce back and forth between wanting to get an actual job and wanting to flee and country for Nepal, shirking all responsibility and living with monks (I am only half kidding…this is something I have actually looked into).  Dramatics aside, I know this is something everyone goes through when they are nearing the end of their college career, so I do find comfort in that.  Something else I find comfort in? This pizza.  I am notorious for avoiding Indian food at all costs, for reasons I can’t really explain, but in an effort to be more open, I decided to give this recipe a shot.  And yes, it has changed my mind completely.

Tandoori Chicken Naan Pizza

Adapted pretty much directly from here  (a blog definitely worth checking out!)

Serves 2

  • 2 chicken breasts, diced
  • 1/2 red onion, finely sliced
  • 1 tablespoon tandoori paste (this stuff is scary good….I admit I was wrong about Indian food)
  • 3 Tbs. plain greek yogurt
  • 1 Tbs. + 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 mango, in small dices
  • 1 bunch green onions, sliced
  • 2 pieces of naan bread
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded
  1. Mix the yogurt, 2 tsp. olive oil, and tandoori paste in a bowl.  Add in the chicken pieces, and coat completely.  Cover, and let marinate in the fridge for at least an hour.  
  2. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Heat 1 Tbs. olive oil in a heavy bottom skillet.  Bring the olive oil to low heat, and add in the red onions.  Cook for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the onions caramelize.  
  3. Cook the chicken pieces in a pan, using a little olive oil if necessary, for about 7 minutes or until completely cooked.  
  4. To assemble your pizzas, top each slice with some naan, mango, caramelized onions, and cheese.  Pop in the oven for about 7 minutes, or until the cheesy is melty.
  5. Top with green onions, and enjoy!

iphone pictures -____-

Leave a Reply

