Is this real life? Is this really the sixth week of my LAST winter quarter at UC Davis? The past few weeks have gone by so quickly, the thought of blogging and cooking hasn’t really even crossed my mind.  I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately, and haven’t been able to put my finger on what was missing, but I knew something was.  It wasn’t until my roommate Jen snapped me back to reality, and bluntly told me that I needed to keep up the cooking and the blogging that I realized how much I had been slacking off in this department.  After cooking this dinner I am about to tell you about, I have to say it feels good to be back!

To mark my return to blogging, I decided to cook something that strikes fear in the hearts of home chefs everywhere.  Something that has received the reputation of being impossible to execute correctly.  Something that I have been thinking of ever since my magical dinner at La Folie.

That’s right, I made a souffle.

it's starting to deflate here, but you get the idea

I’m not sure what exactly possessed me to make this, but I am beyond glad that I did.  It was surprisingly so simple (after a first round of batter failure, that is), and it is one of those things that is really impressive to serve.  Plus, it is essentially a mixture of cheese and eggs, which are obviously two of my all time favorite foods.  So there’s that.

Try it! Don’t let the hype deter you, ’cause it’s really not all that hard.

Gorgonzola Cheese Souffle

Serves 2 (adapted from Real Simple)

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 2 teaspoons flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3-4 oz. Gorgonzola cheese, crumbled
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 egg whites
  • pinch of salt
  1. Heat the oven to 375 degrees.  Take 1 tablespoon of butter, and grease two ramekins.  Set aside.
  2. In a small sauce pan over medium heat, melt the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter. Stir in the flour, and cook over medium heat for one minute.  Whisk in the milk, and stir constantly until the mixture starts to boil.  Stir in the gorgonzola and nutmeg, then remove from heat.
  3. Whisk the egg yolks into the mixture one at a time, and incorporate fully. Set aside.
  4. In a bowl (NOT plastic), whip the egg whites and the salt together until stiff peaks form.  This took FOREVER, and if you have an electric mixer, it would really come in handy here.
  5. Slowly fold in 1/4 of the egg whites into the souffle ‘batter,’ and then gently fold in the remaining whites.  Pour the mixture into the buttered ramekin, and bake until puffed and browned – this took about 30 minutes.  DON’T open the door before time is up, or your souffle will deflate!  Be patient, and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

