Okay, so it is quite possible I have posted three soup recipes in a row.  And truthfully, I am okay with that.  Soup is one of my favorite foods on the PLANET, and making the comforting bowls of it couldn’t be any easier.  There is really nothing like the anticipation as you wait for you soup to finish simmering – you know the pay off will be worth it, yet you can’t help sneaking little bites, as it gets more and more flavorful as time goes on.  Or maybe that’s just me.

a random picture of me wearing an apron my dad just gave me

Anyways, tortilla soup is actually one of my favorite soups of all time.  Sure, when done poorly it can taste like tomato water with a little chicken, but when done correctly….it is just perfect.  With a nice spicy kick, a crunchy textural contrast from the tortillas, and the extra addition of the slightly chewy, slightly soft hominy, this soup is anything but boring tomato water.

pretend like i haven't posted three soup recipes in a row.

When I made this soup, I used a rotisserie chicken that I had already purchased, and I REALLY advocate that (alternatively you could roast your own chicken but I wasn’t feeling too ambitious that day).  Not only can you use the chicken for the soup, but you can have it on hand for salads, pasta, pitas, etc.  I made a supremely tasty raspberry, garbanzo bean, balsamic and chicken pita with the leftover chicken, and it was very enjoyable.  Also, PLEASE use the hominy in this soup.  It is amazing and kind of hard to describe, but I actually wish it was acceptable to put on everything.

Chicken and Hominy Tortilla Soup

Serves 6 

  • 1 rotisserie chicken, skins removed, shredded into little pieces (alternatively you could use about 3 shredded chicken breasts)
  • 2 tbsp.  olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 anaheim chile, roasted, peeled, seeded and chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 28 oz. can diced tomatoes in juice
  • 4 (or more, if needed) cups chicken broth
  • 1 15 oz. can black or pinto beans, drained and rinsed (I used a mixture of the two)
  • 1 15 oz. can hominy, drained and rinsed
  • SPICES, ordered from most to least (use as is your preference)
  • cumin
  • paprika
  • cayenne
  • garlic powder
  • pepper
  • salt
  • 4 corn tortillas, cut into strips
  • monterey jack cheese, shredded, for serving
  • sour cream, for serving
  1. This step is optional, but I chose to add some seasoning to my shreds of chicken before cooking.  I tossed the chicken in a little salt, pepper, garlic powder, paprika, cumin, and cayenne, and olive oil, and let marinate for about thirty minutes.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a large deep pot.  Over medium high heat, cook the onions until translucent, stirring occasionally; about 8 minutes.  Add in the garlic, chile, and pepper and cook for another 4 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add in the chicken, and  cook for about one minute, stirring to combine.
  3. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Pour the chicken broth and tomatoes into the pot.  Bring to a boil.  Add in the spices, beans, and hominy.  TASTE your soup, and adjust spices as necessary.  Return to a boil, then bring down to a simmer for about 45 minutes.
  4. Put the tortilla strips on a cooking sheet covering in cooking spray.  Pop in the oven and cook until nice and crispy.
  5. When the soup is done simmering, give it another taste.  If any spices need adjusting, do so now.  Add in half the tortilla strips, then continue to simmer for another 15 minutes.
  6. Serve up the soup in a bowl, topping with the sour cream, cheese and remaining tortilla strips.

comfort in a bowl. i know i say this about everything but....for reals.

2 responses »

  1. Ann says:

    Delicious! I have NO problem with you posting 3 soup recipes in a row….I’m in your corner…I LOVE soups! This one looks particularly delicious!

    The picture of you is adorable! You look so happy!

  2. Love that the first two things I’ve come across in your blog are soup and soup – my kind of cooking 🙂

Leave a Reply

