I have been a bad blogger.  Things have (thankfully) really started to pick up in my life, but unfortunately that means less time for cooking and blogging.  Working two internships, going to summer school, celebrating 21st birthdays, and preparing for my sorority’s upcoming recruitment has made things a little crazy.  While I am glad that I am busy (summer was getting a littttleeee boring), I am sad because I don’t have all that much time to devote to cooking all the awesome recipes I have lurking in the corners of my mind.

Therefore, when I do cook I need to put together things that are quick and don’t require a lot of attention.  I love making drinks (I’m taking a mixology class later this month with my friend Austen!), and they are definitely the quickest and easiest thing to make.  Plus, who doesn’t love a good cocktail?  This girl sure does.

yes please.

As I’ve mentioned before, there is a restaurant in Davis called Bistro 33 that has AWESOME mojitos, my favorite flavor of which is peach.  They use peach flavored rum there, but I decided to switch it up by using some peaches from the farmers market and making my own peach puree.  These drinks came out so delicious (kind of a dangerous thing!), and Andrew and I enjoyed them with our BBQ pizza.

Fresh Peach Mojitos  

Serves 1 

  • 1 peach (make as much peach puree as you want – I pureed three peaches and it was enough for about….five drinks)
  • juice of one lime
  • a few cubes of ice
  • 1 – 1 1/2 shots of white rum
  • handful of mint leaves
  • club soda
The most time intensive thing about this is the peach puree, but it is worth it.  Chop up your peaches into small cubes, then toss in the food processor.  Pulse until well blended, and then strain the mixture through a sieve.  If you are a texture freak like me and think that fruit chunks are the unthinkable, repeat this process a couple of times.  Take your the ice cubes, lime juice, and mint leaves, and muddle them with a rubber spatula until they are combined.  Add in the shot of rum, the peach puree, and enough club soda to balance out the flavor.  Still well, and enjoy!  

HELLO

3 responses »

  1. sistersbake says:

    I love the twist! Is there a specific type of peach that works best? — do you know? 🙂 Thanks

    • Cater To Me says:

      I didn’t use any specific peach (just whatever I could find at the farmers’ market!). I’m sure any kind would work, and it might be cool to try with nectarines or apricots too!

  2. […] if you are on the fence about buying one do it now because I promise you that you will find a least fifty nine different uses for it. october = […]

Leave a Reply

