I am kind of a weird person.  For being such a lover of food, I have developed and maintained some strange food habits over time that always strike people as pretty unusual.  A great example of this is the fact that as a kid, I didn’t like PIZZA.  At birthday parties, I just wouldn’t eat it.  I think I had a bad experience once with congealed cheese and it turned me off of slices for a while.  Fortunately, (or unfortunately for my health) I outgrew that food quirk, and am now a true lover of pizza.  Some other random food quirks: I despise mayo, ketchup literally makes me gag (apparently I have an aversion to condiments?), and do everything in my power to avoid bananas.

everything is better with a poached egg

The strangest of quirks, however? I don’t really like breakfast.  Pancakes are extremely unappealing to me, and I’d rather have my bacon with a side of cheese than syrup.  Plus…I don’t really like cereal – especially with milk.  On top of that, I’m never really hungry in the mornings.

just. yum.

BUT, one thing I have always been able to get on board with is potato hash of any kind.  I used to eat the canned corned beef on the reg, courtesy of my wonderful grandparents. I am a serious carb lover, in case you didn’t know.  I got the idea for this apple and potato hash in my head a few weeks ago and seriously could not stop thinking about it.  The recipe hasn’t come to fruition until recently because I kept forgetting to buy apples, or sweet potatoes, or eggs.  This afternoon I finally had all the ingredients I needed, and took a quick study break to make possibly one of the tastiest things I have had in while.  I cannot encourage you to make this enough – the combination of sweet potatoes and apples is incredible, and the cheese and poached eggs add a nice little hint of indulgence.  The pancetta doesn’t hurt either, but you could easily remove it to cut calories/make it vegetarian…although I wouldn’t really recommend it 🙂

Apple and Sweet Potato Hash with Manchego 

Serves 1 

  • 1 sweet potato, peeled (I used two small ones, if we are being honest)
  • 1 apple (I would recommend using red apples only for this)
  • 1/4 cup leeks, chopped
  • drizzle of olive oil (enough to cover the potatoes), plus about 1 tablespoon
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • sprinkling of salt
  • 1/4 of a 4 oz. package of cubed pancetta
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup Manchego cheese, shredded
First preheat the oven to 400 degrees, than start by cubing the sweet potato.  Try to do this pretty uniformly.  

yes, i love sweet potatoes

Put the potatoes in a bowl, coat them with the salt and thyme and olive oil, arrange on a baking sheet, and then roast in the oven until softened but not completely done – about ten minutes.  While this happens, dice the apples and cut the leeks.

have i mentioned i enjoy LEEKS

Heat up a pan on the stove, and cook the pancetta until just shy of crispy.  Remove with a slotted spoon and drain on a paper towel. With the pan still hot, add the leeks and cook until beginning to soften, about 2 minutes.  Then, add in the apples and cook over medium heat for five minutes.

apples and leeks work GREAT together

Add in the potatoes and pancetta, cooking for about 2 minutes.  Meanwhile poach your egg, and set aside when done.

no the prettiest, but def the tastiest

With the pan still over heat, sprinkle the cheese over the hash and let it melt completely.  Remove from heat, serve on a plate and top with the egg.

yes

You will thank me, I promise.

5 responses »

  1. tiffany says:

    I despise mayo too… but I can’t relate to your other disdains… I CAN relate to hash and manchego! YUM! 😀

  2. This recipe is great – lots of very good, savory flavors all working together. A well-conceived morning meal, indeed!

  3. Ann says:

    This looks delicious! I love sweet potato hash and Manchego is a favorite of mine….I bet this is a GREAT dish! Buzzed it!

  4. […] Potato HashBacon & Sage Sweet Potato HashSweet Potato Hash with Bacon and Honey Soy ChickenApple and Sweet Potato Hash with Manchego and Poached Eggs.broken_link, a.broken_link { text-decoration: line-through; } span.cufon {margin:2px 0px;} […]

  5. Tracy says:

    Yum! I used your post mostly as a guideline, but sweet potato and apple is a match made in heaven. This was a great post-run breakfast!

Leave a Reply

