So along with the Watermelon Lime Spritzer that I brought to the previously mentioned potluck, I also chose to bring a puff pastry tart ish thing.  I had bought some frozen puff pastry on a whim (wish I could say I made my own – that would truly be a feat) and was kind of at a loss of things to do with it.  Because I was busy all day before the potluck, I wanted something that was fairly easy to throw together, but was also both tasty and summery.

this would probably be good for the fourth of july

I think that the pastry was successful!  This definitely will not be my last adventure using the buttery dough – now that I know how easy it is to bake (only about 17 minutes in the oven!), I am very excited to use it again, especially in a savory variation.  For this particular pastry, I chose to use the very visually pleasing combination of blueberries, raspberries, and mascarpone cheese.  I have never used mascarpone before and it was very interesting; I prefer it in light doses as opposed to thickly layered on, so I used it pretty sparingly in this recipe.  The flavor of the cheese was still present though, and I am looking forward to using it again.

I am secretly so proud of myself for exploring the sweet side of cooking, and branching out from my very beloved savory items! I predict much more baked goods in my future.

Blueberry and Raspberry Puff Pastry Tart

Makes about 16 slices of pastry 

  • 1 sheet puff pastry, thawed
  • one egg, beaten
  •  1/2 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1/2 cup fresh raspberries
  • 1/2 cup mascarpone cheese 
  • sprinkle of sugar 
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Put your puff pastry on a flat surface, and poke some holes in it, leaving a border of about one inch on the edges without holes.  Brush the beaten egg over the pastry – this will make it nice and golden brown! 

mandy, meet puff pastry

When the oven is ready, put the pastry on a baking sheet, and pop in the oven.  Let it cook for about 17 minutes, but check it continually, poking holes in the middle as it rises.  When the pastry is golden brown, remove it from the oven.  It will be VERY puffy, so cut a border around the pastry with a knife, like so:

cutting a border will flatten the pastry in the middle, but leave a nice puffy crust on the outside

Next, spread your mascarpone on the pastry.  Use a baking spatula for this to make it a little easier.  Then, arrange your blueberries and raspberries in a nice little formation, sprinkling some sugar on top to finish.

pretty pastry!

Serve up! Pretend like you slaved all day over this, when really it took you about 30 minutes.  Don’t worry, I won’t tell.


5 responses »

  1. Ann says:

    Mandy, this is beautiful! I love puff pastry and the tart – delish! Good for you for getting out of that comfort zone….with results like this, you should do it more often!

    • mandybeck says:

      Thank you, Ann! When I first started blogging I tended to stay within what I was already comfortable making, but I have recently realized how rewarding and it to try something new and unfamiliar. I’m sure you can identify with this!

  2. Puff pastry is not something I have ever worked with, but this post encourages me to do so. The dessert here looks fantastic and I am glad you did not use a lot of marscapone, letting the true flavors of the natural fruits shine through. Very well done-yum!

    • mandybeck says:

      Thanks, Tina! Mascarpone and fruit is such a classic combo in dessert that I knew they would be good together, but I felt it was more important to maintain the focus on the pastry and the fruit, and it was outstanding! I really recommend you try using puff pastry – it is surprisingly versatile.

  3. Elsie says:

    This looks so yummy! I think I can eat the entire tart without sharing!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

