As I was looking around some food blogs (as I do.  All the time) last week, I ran across a blog – I can’t remember which one! – where the author talked about how much she loves edible food containers.  I realized: so do I! Not necessarily for the taste factor, although that doesn’t hurt, but more for the fact that it is extremely creative and very visually appealing.  It’s fun for me to try to think of edible containers (I recently made stuffed bell peppers, and they were excellent – although the photos were not), and this is my most recent creation, and the only one to make it on this blog thus far.

little boats

Endive is fun (specifically, Belgian endive).  The back story of these little leaf veggies is pretty interesting: it’s grown from chicory roots in the dark! A farmer back in the 1800’s stuck some chicory roots in his cellar to dry, forgot about them, and when he returned the roots had sprouted leaves! The leaves are now known as endive. In order to “cook” these tangy, slightly bitter little beauties, you simply snap the leaves off, wash, and stuff them with delicious goodness, serve them in a salad, or perhaps put them in a soup!

nummies

Prosciutto, pears, and gorgonzola are a pretty classic combo and one that I never, ever tire of.  This was a cool way to switch things up: rather than serving these elements on a piece of bruschetta or in a salad (not that either of those are bad, by any means) I chose to stuff them in little endive boats, and drizzle with a little honey-balsamic.  SO good! This is definitely fit for entertaining, and is easy enough to put together in about five minutes!

Stuffed Endive Leaves

Makes 10 leaves 

  • 10 Belgian endive leaves, rinsed
  • 6 slices prosciutto, cut into pieces
  • 1/2 cup crumbled gorgonzola cheese
  • 1 pear, cut up into small pieces
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons balsamic dressing
  • 1 tablespoon honey
This is so easy, it barely needs a recipe. Start with your endive leaves.  Lay them out on a plate.

naked vessels

Take your prosciutto, gorgonzola, and pear cubes, and mix them together in a bowl with a tiny bit of olive oil.

three of my favorite things!

Take a spoon, and stuff the endive leaves with the mixture you just made.  In a separate bowl, mix together the honey and the balsamic until combined.  Drizzle it over the endive leaves.

simple simple simple!

You just made stuffed endive leaves!

4 responses »

  1. Ann says:

    Looks delicious! I love delicious tid-bits in endive….they hold up so well and are tasty, without overpowering what you put in it.

  2. Gorgeous! Who knew a salad could be so beautiful? I love your fresh and healthy take on recipes.
    Thanks for the friendship add on FoodBuzz, I look forward to more of your healthy recipes.

    • mandybeck says:

      Thank you so much! I only really became conscious of what I was eating when I started blogging, and it has been really interesting experimenting with healthy and seasonal ingredients (not that I don’t enjoy a good indulgence every now and then)!

Leave a Reply

