As has been established, I have a love affair with pasta.  I am always, always, trying out new pasta recipes, and probably about 70% of them don’t make it on the blog, either because they don’t really WOW me, or because they just aren’t very photogenic (here is an exception to the photogenic rule.  My dad told me after I posted it that the pasta shape was a little “scary”).  Therefore, I am always keeping an eye out for that certain pasta recipe that comes together and please the palate and the camera enough to be worthy of posting.

Here is a pasta dish that fits those qualifications.  I enjoyed this a lot more than I thought I would, considering I threw it together without really thinking.  I’ve had some saffron in my pantry forever, and while I absolutely LOVE the way it tastes, I never really come across a lot of recipes that call for it (except seafood recipes.  And I am a poor college student.  So that is not very realistic).  This recipe was the perfect way to use the saffron; the simplicity and minimal ingredients really highlighted the flavor of the spice, and the color it imparted onto the linguine was GREAT.  Try this if you ever need a comforting bowl of pasta.  Which for me, is about twice a week.

PS The “sauce” on this is much more like a broth then a sauce, but “Linguine in Saffron Tomato Broth” sounds way too fancy for what this actually is.  So, sauce it is.

Linguine in Saffron and Tomato Sauce  

Serves 2 

  • about 1/4 package dry linguine pasta
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 shallot, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, peeled, seeded, and chopped (directions on this here)
  • 3/4 cup white wine
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 pinch saffron, crumbled (be judicious – a little of saffron goes a long way!)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
Start by cooking your pasta.  In the meanwhile begin your sauce by melting the butter in a pan, then adding in the shallots and garlic.

classic combo for me

When the shallots and garlic begin to become fragrant, add in the tomatoes.

these aren't actually peeled. shhhh don't be bad like me.

Cook the tomatoes over medium high heat until the begin to soften and release their juices.  Then, add the wine, saffron and chicken broth.  Bring the mixture to a boil, and then down to a simmer, and reduce the mixture by half.  It should be thickened but still a little bit liquidy.

return of the slanted pan

Conveniently, your pasta should be ready right about now! Drain it, and throw it into the pan with the sauce.  Add some salt and pepper, if desired, and cook the pasta in the sauce for about a minute until everything is all incorporated.  Serve up, and enjoy!

pretty pasta

6 responses »

  1. Kelly says:

    Mmm this pasta dish looks so delicious, wonderful recipe! So glad to be your newest follower! 🙂

  2. Ann says:

    It looks delicious! I’m a pasta lover, too….and I LOVE a good pasta dish! Thanks for the foodbuzz invite – this recipe and you have been buzzed!

    • Ann says:

      Dang…I just tried to buzz this recipe, but I don’t see it shared….you’ve been buzzed and I’d love to buzz this one…but I can’t!

      • mandybeck says:

        Not sure why you can’t buzz it, but thanks for trying! I’ll check it out. Glad to have a fellow pasta lover following my blog 🙂

  3. Katie says:

    I’m a pasta freak, too! I might leave out the saffron though since I’m on a college budget. 🙂

Leave a Reply

