Summer cooking is awesome.  I will admit, I was hugely apprehensive when the summer really got started with temperatures of upwards of 100 degrees.  I am a wimp in the heat – I admit it.  I will sit inside all day with the fan blasting, only venturing outside when the sun starts to go down.  This wimpiness tends to carry over into my cooking – do I really want to slave over a hot stove in the middle of the day, filling the house with heat? Not really, no.  I prefer to lay under the fan and enjoy the food network.

summertime watermelon!

So, due to the oppressive heat, I have been forced to adapt my cooking to match the season (no more heaping bowls of creamy pasta waaahhhhhhh) – and surprisingly it has turned out GREAT! I am patting myself on the back right now for resisting getting take out all the time, and rather making simple, cooling treats that require minimal labor and produce maximum flavor – this watermelon salad being one of them.  It is possibly one of the most refreshing things I have ever eaten, and the beauty of it was the simplicity of the recipe.  I know what you are thinking.  Watermelon and cheese? Not a typical combination.  HOWEVER, trust me on this one.  The combination of salty feta (you know how I feel about salt) + refreshing mint and melon + zesty lemon, is a true summertime winner.

Watermelon and Feta Salad 

Serves 4

  • two small watermelons, cubed (I cheated and used pre cut watermelon – judge me).
  • about 3/4 cup feta cheese, cubed
  • 3 sprigs of mint, chopped
  • juice of one lemon
Put your watermelon on a bowl or plate.  Appreciate its summery goodness.

shadows 😦

Toss in the feta cheese and incorporate it with the watermelon.

feta is definitely up there with my favorite cheeses

Next, add the chopped mint and lemon juice to the mixture.  Toss to combine.  Serve this at a BBQ (sensing a theme here?), birthday party, lunchtime or whatever!

just amazing

3 responses »

  1. Kocinera says:

    I am so with you on the summer heat–bring on the air conditioning! This watermelon salad definitely looks like a great way to cool off. Plus it has feta, which is probably one of the best things ever. 😀

  2. […] have been kind of a watermelon fiend lately, so it was very appropriate that I came across this recipe. Funnily enough, I used to HATE […]

Leave a Reply

