On the heels of my delicious blackberry cobbler , I bring to you another farmer’s market recipe.  This is a feature that I’d like to keep going for as long as possible, for many more reasons than the simple fact that I intern with the Davis Farmers Market.  While that doesn’t hurt, creating recipes from ingredients from the market is so much more than that.  I will be the first to admit that my food life pre-blog consisted of a good deal of processed and/or frozen foods – it was hard (and still is!) to resist such delicious products as Trader Joe’s Mac and Cheese, pre made stir fry’s and frozen twice baked potatoes.  While these products do have their merits – relatively inexpensive, fast, full of delicious sodium – they also have their drawbacks: not very filling or nutritious, single use, produced by large corporations and full of delicious sodium (see what I did there? Clearly ten tons of salt is pleasing to my sodium chloride obsessed palate, but it it also not so pleasing to my bikini season bod).

fuzzy little fruties

I’m not going to lie and say I don’t buy frozen pot stickers, chocolate cake, and (numerous boxes of) mini tacos anymore, but having learned the beauty of the farmers market (and produce in general), those instances of processed food binges are few and far between.  The merits of the farmers market are huge, people!  Let me wax poetic for a minute on how great it is to ride my bike (QUAINT!) to downtown Davis, meet some friends and wander the market as live music floats through the air (and okay, perhaps indulge in an icy beer or two).  Meandering down the stalls, you meet literally the FRIENDLIEST people ever – farmers who are so excited to share their product with you that when they realize you are an awkward talker, they shove your mouth full of free samples to fill the silence of you drooling at their produce.

But maybe that is just me.

i realize i am rambling. i will get to the apricots, eventually.

This is getting lengthy, so I will sum this up by saying one of the coolest things ever is making a transaction with a vendor at the market.  You know that as they hand you that apple, that apricot (foreshadowing here, people!), or that bunch of basil, that it is a product of their own work and love, grown very close to where you are standing at the moment. You are directly contributing to their livelihood, and the local economy, and that is a lot of social action packed into one instance of nomming.

summer food at its best

This is potentially one of the greatest recipes ever.  I’m serious.  When I served this to Andrew, he told me: “this could be the best thing I have ever eaten.”  Quite a compliment from someone who is a pretty picky (sorry, truth!) eater.  The thing about this recipe is that it is SO SIMPLE.  I grabbed some of these apricots (and okay, I don’t even LIKE stone fruits, but these were great and delicious and wonderful and amazing) at the market, came home, and the recipe came together in literally FIVE MINUTES.  Plus, who doesn’t like the classic combo of fruit and cheese? This girl sure does.  This would be the absolute perfect dessert to serve after a summer barbeque.  Or, you could just eat it for dinner.  But I mean, who does that?

Okay, me.  I do that.  I did it tonight.  And I’m not sorry.

Apricots with Lemon Ricotta  

Serves about 4, as small dessert portions 

  • 4 small apricots (from the Davis Farmers Market!) halved with stones removed.  To be honest, any kind of stone fruit would be excellent with this.
  • Three tablespoons (give or take) sugar, arranged on a pile on a plate
  • 3/4 cups ricotta cheese
  • juice of one lemon
  • zest of half a lemon
Start by preheating your broiler.  That is the secret to making these apricots extra juicy and tasty.  Then, one by one, take your apricot halves and rub them cut side down into sugar.  Put them in a baking dish.

into the dish they go!

Pop them in the oven!  SO SIMPLE.  While the apricots broil (for about five minutes), you can quickly put together your ricotta. But the ricotta in a bowl.  Squeeze the lemon juice in the bowl, zest the lemon, and stir.  Voila! You have your lemon ricotta.

this is really good eaten plain. i have no shame.

The apricots should be ready right about now.  Make sure they aren’t burnt, but do make sure that they are nice and juicy and broil-y.  Yeah, I just made that word up.

broil-y peaches. the sugar will be all nice and caramelized here.

Carefully spoon a little bit of the ricotta mixture onto each apricot.  Sprinkle the tops with remaining sugar, if desired.  Drool, nom, repeat.

TASTY

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Was recommended your blog by Sunblest Orchards. Check mine out at http://www.anneofgreengardens.com Would you like to be link buddies?

  2. […] Apricots with Lemon Ricotta (and an ode to farmer’s markets) […]

Leave a Reply

