Gorgonzola cheese rules.  I love all cheese, really, but gorgonzola is so unique and strong (in a good way), that I love the interesting flavors it imparts in dishes.  There was some gorgonzola on sale at the store the other day, and I had to buy it, and then obviously I had to incorporate it into everything I would eat the next few days. The first thing I used it for was this pasta, and (although I think I always say this) it was one of my favorites I’ve made so far.

This was extremely simple, and while I think the cream sauce would be fine on its own, the tomatoes added a really nice pop of brightness and flavor to counteract the richness of the cheese.  The amount of blue cheese you use in this is really pretty subjective; I found that about 3/4 of a cup worked for me, but you may like a little more or a little less.  I used fat free milk rather than heavy cream, and really could not tell the difference at all, plus I was able to feel a little bit better about indulging.

Orzo with Tomatoes and Gorgonzola Cream Sauce  

Serves 2, generously 

  • 1 cup orzo pasta, dry
  • 2 medium tomatoes, or one large, seeded and diced
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 tablespoon flour (more, if needed)
  • 1 shallot, finely minced
  • 1 clove garlic, finely minced
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1 cup fat free milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup blue cheese crumbles
Start by cooking your orzo in boiling water, draining and setting it aside when done.  Meanwhile, melt the butter in a skillet.  When it is melted, stir in the flour until it forms a paste.  Add the shallots and being to cook over medium high heat for about 3 minutes until softened.

shalloty

While this is happening, in a separate pan cook the tomatoes over medium heat in a tiny bit of olive oil.  This step is optional; I do this only to soften the tomatoes a little bit.  Generally I will cook them for about two minutes, then set them aside.

nothing like fresh tomatoes

Back to the shallot/butter/flour mixture.  After about 3 minutes, throw in the garlic and cook for about 30 seconds, then add the wine.  Reduce by half, then pour in the milk.  Bring it to a boil, and then reduce until thickened and saucy.  Stir in the blue cheese until it melts, and then salt to taste.  Add the tomatoes and the orzo to the mixture, and stir until coated with sauce.

almost there!

Plate the pasta, and enjoy!  I have also tried this by adding a little bit of arugula in, and it was delicious as well (and the green added some nice color!).

BLUE CHEESE is so good

One response »

  1. […] 2 Roma tomatoes, peeled, seeded, and chopped (directions on this here) […]

Leave a Reply

