First of all, a huge Happy Father’s Day to my dad – someone I admire more than I can say for being both a dad and a mom to me, and for being there for me even when I was being a difficult teenager (read: Senior year).  I’m so lucky to have such a great relationship with my dad, and I’m very thankful for that.

ANYWAYS.  Salads don’t have to be boring. This is something that I am learning this summer, as I try not to eat pasta for lunch everyday.  When I think salad, my mind generally goes to iceberg or romaine lettuce, two things I’m not a very big fan of.  At the grocery store, unwilling to buy either one of these greens to make my salad, and tired of spinach, I picked up some arugula.  I am seriously a convert.

Arugula has a sublte peppery taste to it, and the leaves hold up nicely to dressing.  Especially this dressing.  I have always wanted to try a bacon-shallot vinaigrette, but since I didn’t have bacon on had when I was making this, I chose to use prosciutto.  It came out beautifully, and will definitely be a repeat recipe.  The dressing is best served warm (warm salad? weird idea, but kinda awesome tasting), and it compliments the creamy avocado and egg (obviously I had to poach an egg for this salad) perfectly.  The blue cheese adds the perfect amount of tang to this, and you really don’t need a lot of it since the prosciutto is a bold, salty flavor already.

Just a note – I like my salad very dressing-y.  The amount of vinaigrette used for this could probably be used for two salads, however I used it all on one (big) salad.

Arugula Salad with Prosciutto-Shallot Vinaigrette

Serves 1 dinner portion salad 

  • 1 1/2 cups fresh arugula
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 shallot, finely minced
  • 3 slices prosciutto, cut into pieces (doesn’t have to be very uniform)
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard (I used whole-grain)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 1/4 cup blue cheese crumbles
Start by heating up 1 tablespoon of the olive oil in a medium skillet.  Add the prosciutto slices, and cook until slightly crispy.  This should not take much time at all – about 2 minutes.

love me some pork in all forms

Remove the prosciutto from the skillet using a slotted spoon, and reserve to a plate.  DON’T POUR OUT THE PROSCIUTTO OIL GOODNESS.  Return this oil to heat, and toss in the shallots.  Cook over medium heat until they begin to soften.  Meanwhile poach your egg, then set it aside.  Directions on poaching eggs here.

shallots > onions

Add the mustard, vinegar, salt and pepper.  Slowly whisk in the remaining tablespoon of olive oil, then remove dressing from heat.

Quickly assemble your salad by layering the prosciutto and avocado over the arugula, then by sprinkling the blue cheese over the salad.  Drizzle the vinaigrette over the salad.

something is missing....

Top the salad with the poached egg!  Crank a little black pepper over the salad, if necessary.

voila!

Leave a Reply

