So I might be slightly biased because a good friend of mine (don’t let that go to your head, Albano) works here, but I am a big fan of this quirky taco place in San Francisco.  Generally a casual taco restaurant wouldn’t be something for me to write home about, but Nick’s is GOOD.  Situated in Nob Hill, Nick’s is a haven of fried fish by day, nightclub by night (No, seriously.  The whole place is decorated with red velvet, chandeliers, and a very impressive bar – “San Francisco is all about shared spaces” -Kevin Albano).

So anyways, swanky decor aside, I went here on my way home (YAY FINALS ARE OVER) on Friday with Andrew and Albano.  There was a slight driving mishap – I am still a n00b when it comes to driving in the city, and a special shoutout goes to Andrew for his patience(ish)- but the trip was well worth it.

We started with some chips and guacamole.

free food always taste exponentially better than not free food

Since we are VIP’s and were dining with an employee, these were free.  And that was nice.  What was also nice was how tasty the guacamole is.  And they do not skimp.  There were also two salsas at the table, one verde and one red, and both were excellent.

taco salad duh

Albano is too cool for tacos so he got a taco salad.  I had only a small bite, but it was good. The little tortilla strips on top looked fun.

horrible picture, too excited to nom to worry about camera placement, lighting, manners etc.

I ordered the crispy fish taco and the carnitas taco (both made “Nick’s way” which means with A LOT of guacamole and cheese).  The carnitas was good, but it was overshadowed by the sheer deliciousness of the fish taco.  I am a fan of Rubio’s, and always will be, but this beats their fish taco by about one million percent.  Although the fish is fried, it doesn’t seem heavy at all, and the chipotle mayo (I think) that is served with it…I could probably drink it.  Really delicious and very reasonably priced.

Also of note: I tried some lime drink thing – I believe the authentic name is “agua fresa” – and it was GREAT and very refreshing.  I also tried the strawberry agua fresca, and it was very strawberry-y if that even makes sense.  Bottom line: go here, and be sure to order the fish taco!

Leave a Reply

