Before I show you my first foray into ethnic food, I have two pieces of exciting news.  FIRST, I got an internship!!! It is at a public relations company in Sacramento and I am beyond excited to put on my big girl pants and do something other than administrative work.  SECOND (and while this might not excite you as much as it excites me), PAESANOS is opening up in Davis, taking the place of my beloved Fuzio’s (RIP).  I reviewed Paesano’s just a few weeks ago, and when I found out one was opening in Davis, I texted all my roommates freaking out because it is SO DELICIOUS and I will probably go there every week.  I have to praise the food gods of Davis for not bringing another Thai restaurant to town, and instead bringing some much needed pasta and a great happy hour.

So.  Now that I got all that out, I present to you: shrimp fried rice.  I hardly ever make ethnic food (my attempt at curry vegetables was sad and yucky), so I figured fried rice would be a nice, easy place for me to start.  I am very proud of myself for this one; it is not at all authentic, I am sure, but it came out really tasty, and made for some great leftovers.  Also, I was able to sneak some peas (vegetables!) and eggs (protein!) in there to create a somewhat balanced (albeit it fried) meal.

Shrimp Fried Rice

Serves 2 main dishes, 4 side dishes

  • about 1 1/2 cups DAY OLD rice (it is really important to cook the rice a day ahead so it doesn’t get all mushy when you are frying it)
  • about 3/4 cup shrimp (I used frozen shrimp and just thawed it)
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 3 green onion stalks, chopped
  • 3/4 cup frozen peas, thawed
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce
Start by taking your shrimp and seasoning them with salt and pepper, to your liking.  Heat 1 tablespoon of the vegetable oil over high heat until almost smoking, and add the shrimp in.

the shrimp are all bunched to one side because apparently my stove is uneven, causing liquids to go to the back of the pan

Cook the shrimp on one side, for about 45 seconds over medium high heat.  Flip them over and repeat, and then reserve on a plate.  Turn the heat to medium, return the pan to stove, and add beaten eggs to the pan.

loveeee eggs

Stir the eggs around to break them up (aka, you are making scrambled eggs) and remove them to a plate when they are still a tiiiiny bit soft.  Wipe your pan off with a paper towel, add the remaining 1 tablespoon veggie oil, and bring it to high heat.  Add the green onions and cook for literally fifteen seconds – any longer, and they will burn.

green onions are the best onions

Add the rice to the pan, stirring to mix the green onions in with it.  Flatten the rice out to a layer covering the surface of the pan, and cook for about 3 minutes until you hear the grains sizzle.  Flip the rice, and repeat on the other side!

sizzle

Add the shrimp, peas, eggs, and soy sauce to the pan and stir around.  Let the rice return to heat until everything is warmed through.  Plate up and NOM.

not as authentic as take out, but not as expensive either

3 responses »

  1. Leslie says:

    Yummers!

  2. Katie says:

    Oh, man. I love fried rice! Your blog is great, too. It’s awesome seeing other students who cook! 🙂

    • mandybeck says:

      Thank you! I never think of making it myself, but it was pretty decent. I just checked out your blog…its awesome! The Cherry Tomato and Feta Sandwich just might be my next lunch…

Leave a Reply

