I will confess, right now I am OBSESSED with mushrooms.  Like, seriously obsessed.  I have been trying to incorporate them in everything I’ve been eating lately (tonight, I’m making mushroom risotto), and things are getting a little out of hand.  I will not stop though – the earthy, umami and rich flavor of the mushrooms enhances dishes by approximately 135%, and I am hooked.

I made this a few weeks ago and was hesitant to post it because of the surplus of pasta recipes here – by this time, I should probably just embrace this fact – but it’s the week before finals, I just got back from HOUSEBOATS (hello, best weekend ever) and there hasn’t been a lot of time to cook.  So I present to you: mushroom white wine pasta.  This pasta is really easy, and reflects the limited ingredients I had in my pantry at the time.  These would be good with some shallots, but unfortunately I didn’t have any at the time – feel free to add some in with the butter at the beginning.  It is also of interest that this is the first pasta I have made on this blog in which I haven’t used cheese on top – I think the pasta was just fine without it, and the flavors were very clean and distinct.

Mushroom White Wine Pasta

Serves 2, generously 

  • about 1 cup short dry pasta (I used fun little elbows)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 16 ounce package dried porcini mushrooms (these are GOLD)
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh mushrooms (I used Shitake, because they are fun to say)
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 1 cup beef stock
  • salt and pepper, to taste
Start, as usual, by cooking your pasta in a pot.  When it is ready, and nice and al dente, set it aside.  Meanwhile, bring the beef stock to a boil.  Transfer it to a bowl when it is ready, and crumble the porcinis into the liquid.  Let soak for about 15 minutes.

blurry picture of some bathing mushrooms

As the mushrooms soak, heat the butter in a pan until melted.  Add the fresh mushrooms to the pan, and let cook over medium for about four minutes (until the mushrooms have browned on one side).  Don’t move them around or flip them over.

shroomies

After four minutes, flip the mushrooms over and brown on the other side for about four more minutes.  Next, add the wine, and simmer down until reduced by half.

not pictured: me drinking some of the wine

Pour in the dried mushrooms and broth, leaving about 1 tablespoon of broth in the bowl (this will contain sediment, which is gritty, and you don’t want that in your pasta…I made that mistake).

beef stock is my new favorite stock

Reduce the sauce for about 5 minutes over medium heat, and while still over the flame, add the pasta to the pan.  Toss to coat for about one minute.  Salt and pepper, as desired, and serve up!

UMAMI

My apologies for the picture quality….I was in a hurry when I made this! I have ten tons of recipes coming your way this summer, I promise.  You will be so sick of me and food by the time the summer is over, you won’t know what to do with yourself!

Leave a Reply

