I don’t make meat or poultry a lot, but when I do, I like for it to be something special.  I believe that a wide range of experience is important in cooking, especially to keep this blog exciting (and lets face it – you can only make pasta so many times), so while I mostly wouldn’t normally choose to eat chicken or beef, I do like to switch it up every so often.

I had a package of chicken drumsticks with skin in my fridge that were about to go bad ( it was an impulse purchase – I always buy meat in the grocery store thinking I will use it asap, only to frantically try to find an acceptable recipe to use it for in the last few days of its freshness).  I knew I didn’t want to do anything lemony, because I’ve already done that, but also because I wanted something a little more exciting.  I have only very recently become obsessed with using cracked black pepper on everything I eat (I used to hate it), and so I decided the perfect way to incorporate that recent liking was to use my lonely drumsticks to make garlic pepper chicken.

I was really happy with the way these drumsticks turned out.  Perfectly crisp on the outside (I have a thing for chicken skin), and nice and moist and “falling off the bone” – direct quote from one very picky eater I know – just the way chicken should be.

Garlic Pepper Chicken Drumsticks 

Makes about 6 large drumsticks 

  • 6 chicken legs, bone-in and skin-on
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced (usually when I mince garlic I am lazy and don’t do it fine enough…actually mince it very finely – this makes a difference!)
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 3 tablespoons cracked black pepper
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons white white vinegar
  • 1/4 vegetable oil
Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  Prepare a baking sheet lined with foil.  Put your milk and egg in one bowl and whisk until combined.  In a separate bowl, add the flour and 1 teaspoon salt.  Mix together.
Take a chicken drumstick and dredge it first in the egg mixture, coating it completely.

the road to crispy skin

Next, dredge the drumstick in the flour mixture, also coating it completely.  Transfer to a plate.

chicken snuggles flour

Repeat with the remaining drumsticks, until they have all been transferred to the plate.  Let the drumsticks rest for about 10 minutes.  Take this time to begin the garlic pepper coating.  Add the following ingredients to a bowl and mix: 1 teaspoon salt, garlic powder, black pepper, olive oil, white wine vinegar, and minced garlic cloves.

looks weak, but trust me - it is good.

Let this mixture rest for about 30 minutes in order for the flavors to mingle all together.  Meanwhile, drizzle the canola oil over the chicken and pop in the oven for 20 minutes.

into the oven they go

After the drumsticks have cooked for 15 minutes, take them out of the oven.  One at a time, carefully transfer the drumsticks to the bowl of garlic pepper mixture and coat completely (make sure to get some good pieces of garlic and pepper on there!).  Return the drumsticks to the oven and cook for about 15 more minutes, or until the chicken is done.

When the chicken is finished, return the drumsticks once more to the bowl of garlic black pepper and coat once more.  The raw garlic plus the roasted garlic that was in the oven adds an interesting flavor contrast.  Plate the chicken, and enjoy!

pretty delicious chicken

Leave a Reply

