So I went to Tahoe this weekend and ate A LOT.  Thank you Embassy Suites free breakfast buffet (and Managers Reception Happy Hour….).  It was a great weekend, but today I felt like I needed something healthy after a weekend of gluttony.  And so this salad was born!

As you might recall, I’m not big on salads.  In order for a salad to tickle my fancy enough to make it onto this blog, there has to be something special about it.  That’s where the shrimp comes in here.  I LOVEEEEE shrimp.  When I was younger and staying at my grandparents house, they would always spoil me by buying me about a pound of shrimp and letting me put it in anything I could think of – salad, rice, pasta etc.

This salad is really easy and really fast, but it is also extremely refreshing and satisfying.  The shrimp added a special touch, and the dressing was nice and light (which I – and my waistline – prefer to heavier, creamier dressings such as ranch.) I used edamame, cucumber and blue cheese to accompany the shrimp, and they all went wonderfully together.  I also used microgreens because I am bourgeois.  Feel free to use any kind of lettuce you want.

Shrimp Salad with Lime-Pepper Dressing

Serves 1

  • 1 lime
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • about 4 cranks of cracked black pepper
  • 1/2 cup shrimp, frozen
  • 1/2 cup frozen edamame, shelled
  • 1 cucumber (I used a Persian cucumber because it was on sale at TJ’s an it is cute).
  • About 1 cup microgreens
  • 1/8 cup blue cheese crumbles
Put some water on to boil, and begin the dressing.  Cut your lime and squeeze the juice from both halves into a small cup or bowl.

limey

Add the olive oil and black pepper to the bowl and whisk vigorously until combined.

dressing!

You just made salad dressing! Congratulations.

The water should be boiling by now, so throw your shrimp and edamame in there together.  They should cook for about 7 minutes, and at that point you will want to drain them, shock them with cold water, and set aside.

want me to eat something? add shrimp to it.

Slice up your cute little cucumber.

cute little cucumber slices

Assemble your salad.  Take your microgreens and place them on a plate.  Top them with the cucumbers, edamame, shrimp, and blue cheese, and drizzle with the dressing.

VOILA!

That was easy.  I promise I will be rolling out some more complicated recipes soon, but Spring Quarter has really gotten the best of me so far (in a good way).

Leave a Reply

