I looooooove appetizers.  Call them “small bites,” “tapas,” “starters” or whatever, but there is something I just love about having little bites of perfect, delicious food.  Probably one of the main things I like about small bites is that I can eat a lot of them and in my brain still feel like I am controlling my portions.  Because even if I eat 20 stuffed mushrooms, they’re small, so really it can’t be that bad for me, right?

While my logic might not make a lot of sense, this recipe does.  It is extremely straightforward and simple, and best of all, it is an appetizer! My favorite part about this is how it combines one of my favorite pasta sauces (puttanesca!) with perfectly toasted little slices of bread, lending a great spin to traditional bruschetta.  It is also very, very easy and quick, and I could see myself eating the topping, minus the bread, as a sort of salad.  Low carb is good, right?

Enjoy!

Bruschetta Puttanesca

Serves 6

  •  1 baguette (I used sourdough), sliced into 1/2 think rounds
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled and cut in half
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1/2 cup Kalamata olives (THE BEST OLIVES!), sliced in half
  • 1/4 cup capers
  • 3 tablespoon balsamic vingegar
  • 1/2 cup basil, cut chiffonade style
First, preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Next, for the basis of your bruschetta…the bread!  Place the rounds on a foil lined baking sheet, and brush each slice with olive oil.  With the cut end of the garlic cloves, rub each slice of bread.  This is a really simple trick to impart garlicky flavor into the bread.

my lovely sous chef sardenga, rubbing the bread with garlic

Pop those suckers in the oven, for about 12 minutes or until the bread is nice and toasty.

MEANWHILE, start to make your topping.  Put your tomatoes in one bowl.

pretty

Put your olives and capers together in another bowl.

salty and tangy nummies

Heat up a pan with a little olive oil on the stove.  Add the tomatoes and cook for about 4 minutes until they become soft and close to splitting.

toasty tomatoes

Add the olives, capers and basil to the pan and saute briefly, for one minute.  Remove from heat.

COME TOGETHERRRRR

Return the mixture to a bowl and drizzle with the balsamic.  Stir.  Serve the salty, tangy goodness over your perfect little toasts!

i present to you: kevin albano, hand model

One response »

  1. anonymous says:

    not gonna lie, I think that hand model needs to sign with a major company.

Leave a Reply

