As evidenced by my love for these nachos, I am obsessed with anything that has buffalo sauce on it.  While I am not a huge fan of spicy foods, something about the perfect balance of flavors in the sauce really appeals to me, and I always like to have a bottle in my fridge to make dishes more exciting.  Anyways, the Cheesecake Factory serves this appetizer called Buffalo Blasts that I get literally every single time I go there, and of course it has buffalo sauce in it.  It is basically a fried wonton, stuffed with cheese, shredded chicken, and buffalo sauce, that you dip in blue cheese dressing.  It is seriously amazing and I am drooling as I think about it right now.

Because it is not always realistic to go eat at the Cheesecake Factory whenever I am craving these suckers (which is, on average, about once a week), I decided to try my hand at making my own.  I was a little intimidated by the wrappers, but they honestly turned out GREAT, and it made me happy to know that I could easily recreate one of my favorite dishes at home.  I served these for some of my friends as part of an appetizer style dinner (recipes to follow), and because they were so surprisingly easy, I would definitely make them again.  Keep in mind that the measurements here are VERY loose, and you could really alter them any way you wanted.  I would have liked to use a little more chicken next time for my rolls to be fuller, so keep that in mind.

Buffalo Chicken Spring Rolls 

Serves about 6

  • about 3/4 pound shredded chicken (look at this recipe to see how to shred chicken)
  • 1 bunch green onions, sliced
  • 1 bottle buffalo sauce (I used Franks Red Hot.  You won’t need to use the whole bottle, but you will need to use enough to cover the chicken the completely, and even more if you want to make the rolls a little juicier)
  • 1/4 cup blue cheese crumbles
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese (I used Monterey Jack)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 package egg roll wrappers (BUT I didn’t end up using all of them)
  • olive oil, for brushing the spring rolls
  • blue cheese dressing, for dipping
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Put the shredded chicken in a bowl.

bowl of chicken

Cover the chicken completely in buffalo sauce.  Stir it around so it is all mixed nicely.  Add some salt and pepper, to taste.

SAUCE OF GODS

Add the green onions.

just for some color

And stir it all together!  If you like a little less spicy chicken, you could also add some blue cheese dressing to this to cool down the heat.

Next is the fun and slightly intimidating part.  Take one egg roll wrapper and place it on a flat surface.  To the middle of the wrapper, add some of the chicken mixture.

observe

Next add some blue cheese.  And then some regular cheese!

two kinds of cheese, because cheese is special

Next fold up the wrapper into a nice little roll and seal with water.  This was where I ran into some trouble, as apparently this takes some practice.  You’ll notice my “rolls” came out more like misshapen pillows then actual rolls, which is okay because TASTE is what matters right?

misshapen roll

Repeat this process with the remaining chicken.  Make sure when you put the rolls on your baking sheet, that it has been greased with some cooking spray first.  PAM is your friend.

happy pillows

Brush the rolls with olive oil (so they crisp in the oven!).  Next, pop them in the oven for about 13 minutes, or until the wrappers are nice and golden.

baked, not fried!

Remove the rolls from the oven and let cool for a little bit.  They’re going to be REALLY hot.  I learned this the hard way.

waiting to be eaten

Dip in buffalo sauce, blue cheese sauce, or both, and enjoy!

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED

5 responses »

  1. The recipe title threw me a little but those look really good. Love the two kinds of cheese.

  2. briarrose says:

    Yum! Who can resist buffalo sauce?

  3. Emilie Mulvihill says:

    I’m seriously drooling.
    Emilie M

Leave a Reply

