So as everyone who reads this probably knows, I love roasted garlic.  It is so easy to make and it imparts the best flavor that really takes recipes to another level, and (staying consistent with my love of all foods complicated and fancy) I actually like it better than just plain old garlic.  So when I found a recipe for smashed potatoes with chives, I decided to change it up a little by adding roasted garlic, and the results were delicious.  Even though I used a whole (small-ish) head of garlic, the garlic flavor was extremely subtle, while the green onions (couldn’t find chives) brightened the whole dish up.

Smashed potatoes are the more rustic (read: easier) version of mashed potatoes.  At my house we don’t have  a potato masher because we are silly, so smashing the potatoes gently with a fork as opposed to mashing the hell out of them with a potato masher was my alternative.

I served this with wine braised short ribs (another short rib recipe coming soon!) for my dad when I was home for spring break.  I think he liked the potatoes, which took about 10 minutes of active time, more than the short ribs which took me two days!! Regardless, these potatoes were excellent, and the perfect compliment to short ribs.

Roasted Garlic Smashed Potatoes

Serves 2-3

  • 1/2 – 3/4 pound Yukon Gold potatoes (really depends on how much you wanna eat)
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 head roasted garlic
  • 1 bunch green onions, sliced finely
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Have your oven preheated to 375 degrees. Start with your potatoes (durrrr).  Put them in an oven safe dish.

taters

Distribute 2 tablespoons of butter (cut up into pieces) throughout the dish.

did you think i was gonna give you a recipe without butter?

Pop the potatoes in the oven, covered, for about 20 min.  Take them out, stir them around to coat them in butter, and return them to the oven for about 30-40 minutes, covered.  Remove from the oven.

buttery taters

With a fork (or if you are really fancy, with a potato masher) gently smash the potatoes, skins and all.  You don’t want to smash them into oblivion, just give them a nice smashing so they still are a little chunky.

naked taters

Gently stir in the roasted garlic so it is incorporated into the potatoes.  Stir in the onions and the remaining tablespoon of butter.  Enjoy!

rustic (lazy) potatoes


One response »

  1. Avery says:

    yumyumyum I want this nooow! It looks so amazing… Bring a bowl to the library for me?!?!?

Leave a Reply

