So after a stressful week of finals, I was ready to return to the kitchen in full force.  Today was a lazy Saturday, and with absolutely nothing to do, I decided to make some homemade pasta.  As I have said earlier, I always find cooking very relaxing and satisfying, but making homemade pasta has to be my favorite and most satisfying activity in the kitchen.  Kneading and rolling the dough is SO fun (seriously.  I love it), and the best part is knowing you made the delicious pasta completely from scratch.  It’s a great feeling.

As for the sauce I made for this pasta…make it now.  I’m serious.  Go to the kitchen as soon as you are done reading this and begin the sauce.  This is probably one of my favorite pasta sauces I have ever made and the best part was how incredibly easy it was.  The rosemary and roasted garlic impart a great depth of flavor to this sauce, and paired with the pasta and a little salty Pecorino Romano, it was absolutely perfect.  I also added a tiny dollop of fresh pesto to the top of the pasta for some color, and it added a really nice, bright flavor to the dish.  You could easily do without this though, and the pasta would still be excellent.

P.S – You could easily make this with some dried pasta as well, to save time and if you aren’t weird like me and love kneading dough for half an hour.  Fettucine would be great with this!

Homemade Pasta Ribbons and Rosemary and Roasted Garlic Butter Sauce

Serves 2

  • Homemade pasta dough (recipe here.  Follow the dough recipe until you have it completely rolled out flat. You’ll cut ribbons out of this)
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 3/4 cup chicken stock, plus more if needed
  • 1 head roasted garlic (I used a very small head because this was only for two people)
  • a tiny crank of cracked pepper
  • 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary
  • Pecorino Romano cheese, to taste
  • fresh pesto (optional) to taste

Start by making sure the pasta dough is rolled out very thin…no one likes really thick, chewy pasta!

me playing with pasta dough (picture cropped to hide my haggard post finals self)

Cut the pasta into even(ish) strips, making sure to flour the pasta if it gets too sticky.  The picture below shows my attempt at even ribbons, which was mediocre at best. Thankfully the symmetry of the pasta doesn’t effect the taste! Also, I’m sure you notice the little red flecks in the pasta…I started making out saffron pasta dough, and abandoned ship soon after.  Ooops.

even(ish) pasta ribbons!

When your pasta ribbons are ready, set them aside.  Put on a pot of water to boil, and then begin the sauce.

In a pan, add the butter, roasted garlic and chicken broth.

pretty garlic

Cook on medium heat until all the ingredients are combined and the butter is melted.  Bring the mixture to a slight boil, and then down to a simmer.

saucy

Add the rosemary to the pan and stir occasionally for about 7 minutes, keeping the sauce at a simmer.

i used to hate rosemary and now its my favorite herb! so...rustic.

Cook your pasta in the boiling water while the sauce simmers.  This should really only take about five minutes – fresh pasta cooks fast!

boiling away

When the pasta is ready, drain it in a collander.  Add the pasta to the saucepan that is still simmering, and stir around until the pasta is coated.  Remove from heat.

Plate your pasta and pour the remaining sauce over it. Add a dollop of pesto to the top of the pasta if you wish. Grate some (a lot of) Pecorino Romano over the top of the pasta, and enjoy!

seriously amazing

6 responses »

  1. Food Frenzy says:

    This looks amazing. I haven’t seen home-made pasta since my grandmother made it. I think I may have to venture down this path for the memories.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. So tantalizing! I think the hardest thing about making fresh pasta is having enough room to roll, cut and dry it. Your sauce recipe makes the effort all worth it.

  3. Emilie Mulvihill says:

    I am still trying to recover from the perfectly poached egg (polenta and asparagas). I love it when experiments pay off. Keep up the good work.
    Emilie M

Leave a Reply

