Originally I had wanted to make these on Super Bowl Sunday, but various events prevented me from doing that.  So, the next best thing was to make these for my roommates on Wednesday!  Nachos are usually a big summer staple for me; I pop in some cheese and chips in the microwave and in about a minute I’m set to go.  These nachos required a little bit more time, but they were definitely worth the effort.  I am currently obsessed with buffalo anything (my mouth is literally watering as I think about it) and added to nachos with some blue cheese dressing for a cooling effect, these were perfect.  My roommates and I devoured a tray and I brought over another tray of these nachos to a fraternity and those were finished in about ten minutes as well.  So, I guess you could say these were good.  I am hesitant to provide a recipe for these because they were SO easy.  Instead of giving strict measurements, I’ll just give you a general idea but this is not exact at all.  Feel free to adjust as necessary.

Buffalo Chicken Nachos

Serves 6

  • tortilla chips (enough for how many people you are serving; I used about half a bag)
  • 1 avocado
  • 2 cups shredded Mexican cheese blend
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 1 bunch green onions, sliced
  • 1 cup olives, sliced
  • 1 bottle buffalo sauce
  • 1 bottle blue cheese dressing
  • 2 chicken breasts

Start by shredding the chicken.  I had never done this before, so I’ll give you instructions in case you are a noob like me.  Put a large pot of water on to boil.  When the water starts to boil, add the chicken breasts and cook for 20 minutes, or until no longer pink.  Remove the chicken from the water and let it cool.  When the chicken is cool, take a fork and shred pieces off the chicken.  Easy!

boring chicken, but not for long

While the chicken is cooking, prepare your toppings and set aside.

 

pretty colors

Next prepare the sauce!  This is what makes the nachos special.  Add equal parts buffalo sauce and blue cheese dressing to a bowl (I used about 3/4 cup each) and mix.

 

tangy deliciousness

When the chicken has cooled and been shredded, add the chicken to the sauce mix and stir.  This makes (what I think is) usually bland chicken taste AMAZING.

Prepare the nachos.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  In a baking dish, spread the chips all along on the bottom.

 

chips

Next, layer all the toppings (chicken, olives, onions, tomatoes) over the chips, distributing evenly.

 

easy

Layer the cheese over the chips, and drizzle the buffalo/blue cheese mixture over that.  Don’t be afraid to use a lot of sauce; the first time I made these, they were a little dry, but the second time I used more sauce and it came out much better.

 

SAUCY

Repeat this process (chips/toppings/cheese/sauce) once more.

 

this is good

Put the baking tray in the oven, and bake for about 15 minutes, or until the cheese is nice and melty.  Serve, and enjoy!

 

CHOS

6 responses »

  1. Leslie says:

    Omg…this looks amazing!

  2. Jim says:

    I need to taste these! They look delicious.

  3. Jessie Colonns says:

    make these all the time for my boyfriend and his family in Tahoe, and they are a warm and delicious dinner! added chili and black olives for a personal touch 😀

  4. Jessie Colonna says:

    make these all the time for my boyfriend and his family in Tahoe, and they are a warm and delicious dinner! added chili and black olives for a personal touch 😀

Leave a Reply

