Friday night my roommates and I were talking about how much I love to cook.  Somehow it was decided that Wednesdays, the days we are all most free, would become roomie Wednesday, where I would cook my roommates dinner and test out recipes for this blog.  I’m not complaining.  My absolute favorite thing about cooking is having other people enjoy my food.  My other favorite thing about cooking is talking about the food while eating it (maybe while enjoying a glass of wine).  That was definitely accomplished today on our first “roomie Wednesday” and I’m looking forward to more.

My friend Avery who just got back from Argentina (jealous) and who shares the same passion for food as me came over to help.  The menu (which ended up being a little more food than I intended) revolved around some pizza dough I bought from Trader Joe’s (heaven).   We made two pizzas, some pesto with orzo and a DELICIOUS salad (recipe following this).  My roommates Jen and Sydney made Jen’s mom’s “B read, Bread, Bread” (recipe to follow) and were extremely excited about being featured in their first blog post.

As for the pizzas, one was a pretty basic one with tomato sauce, but the other one was a white pizza.  I had always wanted to try pizza with potatoes, so I tried that out and it was interesting.  I liked it but its not something I would have all the time.  Homemade pizza is fun, and I will definitely think twice before buying a frozen one.

Roasted Garlic and Pancetta Pizza

Serves 6

  • 1 package store bought pizza dough
  • pizza sauce (I used Trader Joe’s refrigerated sauce…lazy, but good)
  • 1 bulb of roasted garlic
  • 1 cup fresh spinach
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 2 oz. pancetta, cubed
  • flour, for rolling dough
  • olive oil

Start by roasting your garlic.  While the garlic roasts, have your dough in a nice little ball.  In this case, I had two of them (one for the white, and one for the red sauce)

dough is fun

Roll out your dough into a circle (or if you are me, a blob) and to your desired thickness on a floured surface.   If the dough gets sticky, add some more flour.  Lay the dough out on a lightly olive oiled baking sheet.

flat dough

Spread your tomato sauce on the dough, leaving about an inch of dough around the perimeter  of the crust.  Sprinkle the mozzarella on the pizza.  I used a lot.

cheeeeeeeeeeeese

Then, add your pancetta.  Again, I used a lot.

nummies

Add the spinach to the pizza.  This adds a nice color and also gives you the illusion that you are eating something healthy.

if it has spinach on it, it must be good for you

Put the pizza on a baking sheet in the oven at 375 degrees for about 18 minutes, until the cheese is melted and the crust is browned.

homemade pizza!

 

Asparagus, Potato and Goat Cheese Pizza

Serves six

  • one package store bought pizza dough
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced x
  • 1 bunch asparagus, cut in half lengthwise and then crosswise
  • 1 log goat cheese, crumbled
  • 6 fingerling potatoes, boiled until tender
  • 1/2 cup green onions, chopped
  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese

Prepare your dough in the same way as the first pizza, stopping before the step where you put tomato sauce on it.  Instead of tomato sauce, cover the pizza with the olive oil.

white pizza!

Toss your asparagus in some olive oil and salt.

green

Cut your potatoes into discs.

taters and onion

Sprinkle the pizza with the mozzarella cheese and garlic.  Add the goat cheese, onions, potatoes and asparagus on top.

you could probably consider this healthy; the cheese to greens ratio is less unbalanced than usual

Pop the pizza in the oven at 375 degrees on a baking sheet.  Cook for about eighteen minutes, until the asparagus is tender and the crust is browned.

done!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

