After a gluttonous day of eating last Friday, I made a pact with myself that Saturday’s lunch would be healthy.  I had a butternut squash in my pantry that I had been wanting to add to a recipe (I had never used one before!) so I decided to use it as the base of my “healthful” lunch.

Judging from the title of this post, you can probably tell that it didn’t go quite as planned.  Lots of cheese (not to mention cream) is not what one would call “healthy” but I saw a version of this on Epicurious.com and I had to try it.  I had all the ingredients on hand (except sage, and I’d rather have garlic anyways) and the simple combination of flavors sounded amazing.  And it was.  This isn’t something you could eat all the time, but I see it being a GREAT dish you could serve for Thanksgiving or some other holiday involving stuffing your face.  So, essentially, any holiday really.  Enjoy!

Cheesy Roasted Butternut Squash (adapted from Epicurious.com)

Serves 2

  • 1 butternut squash, halved and peeled with the membranes and seeds scooped out
  • 1 1/2 cups cheese, grated (I used Parmesan and a Goat Gouda from Trader Joe’s…I really recommend it by the way)
  • 1 cup cream
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Start by preheating the oven to 400 degrees.  Cut your squash into uniform cubes.

peeling squash is hard

Place the cubes in an oven safe dish.

doesn't look like much now, but wait

Add the cream to the dish and coat the cubes of squash with it.  Throw your garlic in the dish as well and distribute it throughout the squash.

nothing is bad with cream

Sprinkle some salt and pepper on top and bake in the oven, covered, for thirty minutes.  After thirty minutes pass, take the dish out of the oven and pour half the cheese in the dish, distributing it throughout the squash.  With the other half of the cheese, form a layer on top of the squash.

almost there!

Bake for another 20 minutes uncovered until the squash is slight brown and the cheese has formed a crust (YUM).  Remove from the oven and serve on individual plates.  You’re welcome.

SO GOOD

 

6 responses »

  1. Sandra says:

    Oh wowwww..what a color! I love it! Great recipe and photos!

  2. Jason says:

    Great idea. Thanks for the post.

  3. Avery says:

    I LOVE butternut squash…I am definitely going to have to try this one soon!!!

  4. Chris says:

    Mandy, I loved reading all of your recipes! Next time you and Lauren are home, you’ll have to cook for all of us. I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

