Apologies for my absence.  I started school and have been busy beating everyone in Monopoly lately and haven’t left a lot of time to post. I do have a couple recipes sitting around that I want to post, and here is one of them…

Roasted garlic tomato soup.  I LOVE soup.  It’s gotten a lot colder where I live, and homemade soup is the perfect remedy for that.  Prior to my birthday in December I was pretty limited in terms of making different kinds of soup.  I did the basic chicken broth/mirepoix (carrots, onions, celery)/little pasta/sausage variations, and the soup was good, but I REALLY wanted to make creamy tomato soup.  That became possible when I got a much desired food processor for my birthday (thanks ANDREW :]).

This soup is delicious.  I made it a few times and tweaked it until I got it just the way I wanted, and I think the roasted garlic, along with the red wine, adds something really special and a great depth of flavor to this.

Roasted Garlic Tomato Soup

Serves 4

  • 1 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes with juice (preferably San Marzano)
  • 4 tbsp. butter
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1 celery rib, diced
  • 3 tbsp. flour
  • 2 tsp. dried basil
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup red wine
  • 1/4 cup cream
  • 1 head roasted garlic
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • cheddar cheese, shaved for topping (I used Dubliner Chedder…THE BEST).

Start by roasting the garlic.  Roasted garlic is one of my favorite components in a dish, and I use it whenever I can.  To roast the garlic, preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Slice the top of a head of garlic off so all the cloves are exposed.  Wrap the head of garlic in foil and put it in the oven for about 35 minutes or until it is brown and soft.

 

pre roasted garlic

Meanwhile, in a large, heavy pot, melt the butter.  I love melting butter.

 

nothing better

Have your vegetables ready.

When the butter is melted, throw the vegetables in the pot with the butter.  Cook on medium heat until they soften and begin to become fragrant.

 

soft and fragrant!

At this point, add your three tablespoons flour to the vegetable mixture, and stir constantly for about three minutes.  Next, add the tomatoes, chicken broth and red wine.  Bring to a boil.

 

soupy soup soup

Once the soup is boiling, add your basil, salt and pepper.  Taste the soup to make sure it is seasoned to your liking!

Next, here comes one of the fun parts.  Take your garlic head (already roasted and cooled down) and squeeze the garlic into the soup.  It should be pasty and brown and smell DELICIOUS.  Stir the paste into the soup and simmer the soup on low for about 30 minutes.

After simmering the soup, remove it from the heat and let the soup cool down.  Do this in order to….

Puree the soup in your food processor!

 

my child

Transfer the cooled down soup from the pot to the food processor, and puree until smooth.  Then, strain your pureed mixture through a sieve, catching the liquid in a bowl (this is the part that will make the soup).  Do this transfer of soup in batches, and make sure the soup is cooled down so the food processor doesn’t explode.

Once you have pureed and strained all the soup, return it to the pot and bring it back to a boil.  Stir in the cream and remove from heat.

 

*drools*

Serve the soup in bowl and garnish with some shaved cheddar cheese.  You can thank me later.

Leave a Reply

