As a college student attempting to be money conscious, I am a big supporter of simple, inexpensive dishes that utilize what you already have in the pantry.  Chicken is the perfect base for a recipe like this because it is extremely versatile (not to mention inexpensive).  As I mentioned before, I don’t cook a lot of meat/poultry because, lets be real, I’d rather eat pasta.  However, I had some bone -in, skin-on chicken thighs in the freezer and not a lot else, and unwilling to brave the monsoon raging outside of my apartment, I didn’t really have a choice.

This chicken turned out good (for chicken!).  I did some research on the internet on how to achieve crispy chicken skin, and the most helpful tip I got was to make sure the chicken was completely dry before popping it in the oven.  The skin is the best part (gasp at me in disgust, I don’t care – it’s delicious) and I think that mine came out pretty good!  I served this with some garlic green beans that had some goat cheese stirred in.

Lemon Garlic Chicken

Serves 4

  • 4 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs
  • 1 lemon, cut in half
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 4 tablespoons butter (duh.)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Make sure your chicken is dry.  Pat it with a paper towel if you need to.  Get a baking dish and distribute the olive oil all over the bottom.  Season your chicken with the salt, pepper, and garlic powder – there are no specific measurements for this, just do it however you like.  I like garlic.  I like salt.  Hence, I used excessive amounts of both.  Put your chicken in the baking dish and squirt with a little bit of lemon juice.  Pop the chicken in the oven at 375 degrees.

 

boring chicken

A little more than half way through the cooking process (at about 20 minutes), open the oven.  Grab your butter and slice it into four big chunks.  Throw those chunks of butter, along with the garlic, and distribute them in the baking dish.  Add a little extra squirt of lemon to the chicken (don’t get it too wet!) and throw the lemon halves in the pan as well.

 

not that boring chicken

Let the chicken finish cooking.  The internal temperature of the chicken should be 170 degrees when it is done.  The skin should be nice and crispy and yum.  Plate your chicken and squeeze the rest of lemon on each thigh.   Spoon some of the buttery, garlicky mixture over your chicken.  I never claimed to be healthy.

One response »

  1. […] the last few days of its freshness).  I knew I didn’t want to do anything lemony, because I’ve already done that, but also because I wanted something a little more exciting.  I have only very recently become […]

Leave a Reply

