This was easy.  Being home, I’ve been lacking in the veggie department so I figured I should probably eat some greens.  I usually just saute my vegetables in a pan with some garlic salt (creative, I know) but I decided to try something a little different, and it was pretty good.  I love leeks, and when they are roasted in the oven they are GREAT.  I really recommend them.

Oven Roasted Leeks and Green Beans

Serves 2

  • 1 cup leeks, cut into little slices (use only the white to light green part of the leek).
  • 1 cup green beans, trimmed
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • salt and pepper, to taste.
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.  Put the leeks and green beans in an oven safe dish.  Toss the leeks and green beans with the olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic until all the veggies are coated.  Sprinkle some salt and pepper on top, pour the chicken broth over the beans and leeks (so they don’t dry out) and pop in the oven for about 30 minutes, or until your veggies have the desired tenderness.

 

this is a horrible picture. the pan was hot and i was frazzled.

Forgive the picture, it is not my best.  But these were pretty good, and extremely easy, and you could put any veggie in here that you wanted.

Leave a Reply

