So I had a little fun on my birthday (happy 21st to ME!) and haven’t had a lot of time to cook.  I had a great birthday, and my favorite present was quite possibly a jar of fried garlic that my friend Kevin (hi ALBANZ!) gave to me.   I had drooled over it at his house earlier this month, and am so excited to put it into a recipe, so look out for that.

I made this for my dad last night.  Our relationship when I’ve been home lately is working out nicely: I get a guinea pig for all my food tasting and he gets a nice meal once in a while.  I think he’s enjoying it.

I originally wanted to make this recipe but didn’t realize how involved it was until I started to cook dinner ten minutes before my dad came home.  Apparently, some modifications were in order.  It no longer resembles the original sauce that much, but it was SO good, and I plan on making the original sauce when I get back to school anyways.  The red wine makes this really, really good…DON’T skip using it!

Orecchiette and Tomato and Red Wine Cream Sauce With Pancetta

Serves 2

  • 1/2 pound orecchiette pasta (0r any shape, like shells, that will hold the pancetta well)
  • 1 can (28 0z.) whole peeled tomatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • about 1/2 cup pancetta, diced
  • 3/4 cup red wine
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper, to taste

First things first, cook your pasta according to the directions.  Set it aside.

Begin the sauce.  Pour the can of tomatoes into a pan and crush them with your fingers until you have the desired consistency of your sauce.  I guess you could buy pre crushed tomatoes, but this is what I had on hand and plus, crushing tomatoes with your fingers is kinda enjoyable.  Don’t judge.

 

this is fun

Next, put some olive oil in pan with the pancetta and cook over medium high heat until the pancetta begins to crisp.

 

beautiful bacon

Next, add the onion and garlic to the pan.  Cook until fragrant.

 

The base to any good sauce: bacon, garlic, onions.

When the onions are soft and the garlic is fragrant (YUM), add the red wine and oregano.  Cook the mixture over medium heat until the red wine reduces by half. Add the cream and crushed tomatoes and some salt and pepper.  Simmer the sauce for about 15 minutes.  Taste the sauce.  Why? Because it tastes really, really good.

 

*mouth waters*

Stir in the parmesan cheese and continue to simmer until it is melted.   Plate the pasta and scoop the sauce over it, sprinkling with some more parmesan to taste.  ENJOY!

 

voila!

Leave a Reply

