I take back everything I have ever said about not being a breakfast person.

I’m serious.

oh my goddddd

This recipe is one part trickery (spinach and mushrooms? healthy!), one part butter, and a whole lot of eggs.  And I am so okay with this.  While I didn’t necessarily have it for breakfast, per say (okay…I ate it at 1:30….) I could see this being a wonderful addition to a brunch party (something that I am contemplating having) because while it looks and tastes a little fancy, it was really quite simple.  And plus, I think it would go nicely with a mimosa.  There were a lot of steps involved, and some crafty timing, but truthfully the hardest thing was making the hollandaise, which thanks to my food processor was not too difficult at all.

I have to say that hollandaise is SERIOUSLY dangerous because it is incredibly delicious, and so extremely not good for you.  However, when used on rare occasions, such as in this dish, I think you can validate the splurge.  Just try to keep yourself from eating it plain, out of the blender.  Not that I did that or anything.

Spinach and Mushroom Eggs Benedict 

Serves 1, with leftover hollandaise 

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 handful fresh spinach
  • 1 cup Shitake mushrooms (you can really use any kind, this is just what I had)
  • dash of salt
  • dash of pepper
  • dash of red pepper flakes
  • 1 piece sourdough bread
  • 2 eggs
  • For hollandaise:
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 dash of cayenne
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 3/4 stick butter (I KNOW.  I KNOW.)
  1. Start by boiling some water in a medium pot.  This will be for poaching your eggs.  While the water comes to a boil, heat the olive oil in a pan, then add the mushroom and spinach.  You will saute these over medium heat, stirring occasionally, while the rest of the breakfast comes together.
  2. While the mushrooms and spinach saute, add your 2 egg yolks, cayenne, and lemon juice into a food processor, and blend until combined, and nice and yellow.  The water should be boiling now, so turn it down to medium high and carefully slide in your eggs and poach them.  For further instructions on this, go here.  Set the eggs aside when poached.
  3. Pop the sourdough into the toaster, and toast it until it reaches your desired doneness (aka BURNT for me).  Put the butter in a microwave save bowl, and microwave for one minute.  With the food processor running, slowly stream in the melted butter, until the sauce become nice and thick.
  4. Assemble your sammich.  Put the toast on a plate, top with the spinach/mushroom mixture, then the poached egg, then a generous drizzle of the hollandaise.  Drool a little, and then enjoy!

could eat this every day

2 responses »

  1. Leslie says:

    Mandy! I do remember that you were NEVER a breakfast person! So glad you’re starting to like it…even if it’s at 1:30! This sounds YUMMY! I LOVE hollandaise…and could eat it by the spoonful…

  2. First of all, I think your site is great! I love finding other college students like me that can find time in the midst of studying, paper writing, etc. to cook–an inspiration haha. Second, eggs Benedict is probably my most favorite breakfast food. I have never eaten it on a bed of spinach though–intriguing! I’ve found that hollandaise sauce tastes really good with a pinch of nutmeg in it too, it rounds out the richness of the butter. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

