So, as I mentioned earlier, I was lucky enough to get an internship with the Davis Farmers Market doing social media marketing.  My boss knows about my blog, and asked me last week if I would do a recipe using blackberries from the market because they have an abundance of them.  Obviously I said YES!  So, if you are a new reader clicking on this link from the Davis Farmers Market Facebook page, I would like to thank you so much for visiting and also be upfront that this is not a professional cooking blog (although, I do have aspirations). I am just a girl who absolutely loves cooking (and more importantly, EATING) and sharing that love with others.  I encourage you to look around this site (if you enjoy pasta, this is definitely the place for you) and I welcome any and all comments and suggestions.

yummy blackberries from the market! (note the bikes in the background - very Davis)

So on to blackberries.  There is something about them that just screams SUMMER to me, and I think that is why they are my favorite fruit.  I love the huge, tart flavor that is packed into such a small unassuming berry, and I love the texture of a perfectly ripe blackberry – not too firm, not too soft (which is perfect because I am a texture freak).  I can honestly say that the blackberries I picked up from the market on Wednesday were some of the best tasting and most reasonably priced (3 cases for $10!) that I have ever had.  If you are ever in Davis I really, really, cannot encourage visiting the market enough – it is probably the coolest, most quaint (can coolness and quaint exist in the same sentence?? In this case, I think so) place in Davis and the sense of community there is awesome.

secret ingredient to liven up the cobbler: lemon juice and lemon zest!

I chose to make a cobbler because I am not really a big fan of really sweet desserts, like for example, a crisp.  The biscuit like topping on the cobbler provided me with something savory-ish to balance out the sweetness of the berries (and more importantly, some tasty batter to nom on).   This turned out so delicious!  I am a little scared as I write this because the pan is sitting on the counter and I am tempted to inhale the whole thing with a carton of vanilla ice cream.  I am sure it will be just as tasty tomorrow, but you will learn I have never been one for patience.

ice cream + blackberries + cobbler = HEAVEN!

PS – I just realized this is my first dessert recipe! Sometimes, changing it up can be a good thing.

Blackberry Cobbler 

Serves 6

adapted from this lovely blog

  • For blackberry filling: 
  • 5 cups blackberries, rinsed, from the Davis Farmers Market!
  • zest of one lemon
  • juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • For the cobbler topping:
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons cold butter, cut into pieces
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon butter, melted
  • sugar, for sprinkling
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees, then begin the filling.  Zest the lemon over the blackberries.

my mouth tingles as i write this

Then, add the juice of half a lemon, the sugar, nutmeg and flour, and stir it all around to coat the berries.  Don’t be afraid to get messy! I mistakenly wore a white shirt while making this – I advise against that unless you want a blackberry tie dye shirt.  When everything is combined, pour into a baking dish and set aside to let those flavors mingle.

flavors mingling and getting to know each other

Next, start your topping.  Stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl. In this case, I used my chipped orange bowl – it is very rustic.  Trust me.  Add in your butter slices.

my grandma calls me the butter princess. it is a title i wear with pride.

You can either use a hand mixer, a fork, or a food processor (obviously I used my beloved food processor) to incorporate the butter into the mixture.  It should be nice and crumbly.  Next, combine the buttermilk and vanilla.

SWIRLY

Pour the buttermilk/vanilla mixture into the flour mixture, and stir just until combined.  It will stick to your fingers.  Run around your house with doughy fingers, saying “IM THE DOUGH MONSTER.” Not that I did that, or anything.

rustic bowl

Top the blackberries with your dough mixture.  Pour the melted butter over the dough (everything is better with butter), and sprinkle with sugar.  Pop the baking dish in the oven for about 35 minutes, or until the dough is goldeny brown and smelling GOOD.

the aroma of this is pretty indescribable. plus, the blackberries are nice and bubbly and juicy and YUM.

Remove from the oven.  Serve slices with whipped cream, ice cream, alone, or whatever!

drool

Enjoy, and don’t forget to stop by the Davis Farmers Market, Wednesdays from 4:30 to 8:30 and Saturdays from 8 to 1 :) .

5 responses »

  1. tiffany says:

    This looks fantastic! Blackberries are one of my favs!

  2. briarrose says:

    Mmmm…cobbler….such a great classic. Beautiful, fresh berries.

Leave a Reply

