So I needed a quick and easy side dish for my fried egg sandwich that I made the other day, and for some reason could not get sweet potatoes out of my mind (possibly because of my penchant for fries made out of these tasty spuds at Bistro 33).  I didn’t want to make sweet potato fries, so I thought – Why not make chips! Initially I thought making chips would be difficult, but the hardest thing really was slicing the potatoes.  I baked these chips rather than fried them in oil, so I could feel slightly better above stuffing my face with them.

These came out SO much better than I had anticipated, and I wish I had made more.  About 1/2 a potato was enough for one person, but just remember that as the slices bake they will lose water and become smaller.  Next time I make these, I would like to experiment with different seasonings – for example, cayenne pepper – and see how that makes a difference for the chips.  These would also be great dipped in some kind of aioli (roasted garlic possibly, like at Bin 38).  NOMS.

Sweet Potato Chips

Serves 2

  • 1 sweet potato, washed
  • vegetable cooking spray
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • pinch of salt and pepper
Start by slicing the potato.  Try to keep your pieces uniform, in order for them to cook evenly.  Mine were not so uniform, and some got a little burnt, but they were still tasty.  If I were cool I would have used a mandoline to slice these, but I am poor and lacking in utensils, so I just used a sharp knife and hoped for the best.

watch your fingers, things got a little dangerous

I also kept the skins on the potato for nutrient value – it was very “rustic.”

Dry the potatoes off with a paper towel, and lay them out on a cooking sheet that has been sprayed with vegetable oil cooking spray.

not so uniform slices

Season the slices with salt and garlic powder, then spray again with vegetable oil spray.  Pop the chips in the oven for about 15 minutes, or until the chips are crisp and the edges are starting to curl.

these might have taken the place in my heart previously occupied by sour cream and cheddar lays

Remove the chips from the oven, let cool, and serve onto a plate.  These are some very tasty (and healthy!) spuds.

 

 

Leave a Reply

