As I have previously stated, I don’t really eat sandwiches all that much, mainly because the texture of most breads when paired with something moist (mustard, mayo, aioli etc.) freaks me out kinda.  I made the exception for this sandwich early on in my blog (and loved it!), so I figured I might as well give sandwiches another shot.  And so I did, using a nice crusty ciabatta roll that held up nicely to the mustard. This is one BIG sandwich; I had it for dinner last night and was stuffed for the rest of the evening.  I would like to think that the addition of arugula, and even avocados (healthy fats!) upped the health factor on this, but who are we kidding – the cheese and prosciutto probably offset that.  Regardless, it was delicious, especially alongside some sweet potato chips I made (recipe to follow).

Fried Egg, Avocado and Prosciutto Sandwich  

Serves 1 

  • 1 ciabatta roll (or sturdy roll of your choice) sliced in half
  • about 3 tablespoons whole grain mustard
  • cheddar-gruyere cheese (I used this because I had it on hand, but any nice white cheddar would work)
  • 2 slices prosciutto
  • 1 avocado, sliced into segments
  • 1 handful wild arugula
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • salt and pepper, to taste
Preheat the broiler first, then start with the bread; slather the mustard on both sides.  Don’t be shy.

currently obsessed with this mustard, among other things

Lay some slices of your cheese on each side of the bread, as much as you want.  I used about 3 slices on each side.  Pop the bread in the broiler.

is there anything better than a fried egg? no, there isn't

Meanwhile, fry your egg by heating up the 1 tablespoon olive oil in a pan on the stove.  Crack the egg into the oil and cook for about 1 minute on each side.  Remove to a plate.  I learned how to cook fried eggs from my grandpa, and they are one of my favorite things to eat.

cheesy eggy

When the cheese is nice and melty and the bread is crispy, remove the slices from the broiler.  Top one slice with the fried egg.  Next, layer the prosciutto, arugula, and avocado on top of the egg.

fancy sammich

Salt and pepper both sides of the sandwich, and then put the slices together.  EAT IT!

sandwich!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

