I wasn’t even going to post this here.  I was preparing to leave Davis after finals, and had to throw something together because I was hungry.  I had some tomatoes, I had some Kalamata olives (the only kind of olives I ever have, really), and some fun shaped pasta (Giada for Target brand, obvi), so I put this together in kind of a hurry.  When tasting the sauce, I did a double take – it was actually really, really good, and I couldn’t not share it with you.  I think this is proof that sometimes simple flavors are truly the best, especially in Italian cooking.

Something enlightening I found out while making this – 1/2 a box of pasta is not necessarily necessary for one person (this is only a slight exaggeration of my usual pasta eating habits).  I had about 1/4 (maybe slightly more) cup dry pasta left in my pantry, and it was the perfect amount for this dish.

Pasta with Olives and Tomatoes

Serves 1

  • about 1/4 cup pasta (depends on what kind you are making though – smaller shapes, you’ll need less)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup Kalamata olives, chopped
  • 1/4 cup grape tomatoes, halved
  • salt and pepper, to taste
Start by boiling your water, then cooking your pasta.  In the meanwhile, heat up a pan with the 2 tablespoons olive oil until nice and warm.  Toss in the garlic, olives, tomatoes and oregano. Literally, it is that easy.

looks unassuming

Cook your “sauce” over medium high heat until the tomatoes start to blister and the garlic becomes fragrant.  The pasta should be ready by now, so drain it, and add it to the pan with the sauce.

the absolute only way to cook pasta

the absolute only way to cook pasta

Cook the pasta with the sauce for a minute or two, until all the elements melt together.  Something I have learned over obsessively reading/watching/stalking the Food Network/Bon Apetit/Top Chef is that the best, and really only way to cook pasta, is finish it off my cooking it in the sauce.  The sauce adheres to the pasta better and makes a much more cohesive dish.

the pasta shape looks very unappetizing here, but is really good in reality

Salt and pepper the pasta to your liking.  If you feel this is necessary (and I did), add a tiny bit of butter to the pasta for some silkiness.  Remove from heat, and serve!

One response »

  1. [...] either because they don’t really WOW me, or because they just aren’t very photogenic (here is an exception to the photogenic rule.  My dad told me after I posted it that the pasta shape was [...]

Leave a Reply

