I love salty things.  Rather than dessert, I would be much happier eating an after dinner savory snack and I’m always craving something salty (Funyans anyone?).  This pasta recipe satisfied the urge for salty food completely, and sneaking some peas in there made me feel a little better about the cream sauce (which was absolutely perfect, by the way).

I found this in the Food Network Magazine and adapted it a little to suit what I had in the fridge.  Instead of using fresh parsley, which I didn’t have on hand (because who in college buys fresh herbs, really), I used a tiny bit of homemade pesto that I had made earlier in the week.  Not exactly the same but it served the same purpose: to brighten up the heavy cream sauce.

This was SO good!  And so fast.  The textures of the peas, prosciutto and ravioli complemented each other perfectly and were extremely visually pleasing.  You’ll notice the new plates that this ravioli was photographed on – after telling my dad that the plates we had at my apartment weren’t very photogenic, he went out and bought some nice white plates for us.  Thanks, Dad!

Ravioli With Peas and Prosciutto Cream

Serves 2 as a meal, or 4 as a side dish

  • 1 package ravioli, cooked and set aside (I used plain cheese, as I didn’t want to overwhelm the flavors of the sauce).  Reserve about 1/2 cup of the pasta cooking water!!
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 6 slices prosciutto, cut into small pieces
  • 1 tablespoon pesto
  • 3/4 cup of cooked frozen peas (I love peas so I used a lot)
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • Pecorino Romano cheese, to taste

Heat the olive oil in a skillet and cook the prosciutto over medium heat until crisp.

salty goodness

Add the pesto to the pan, stir around and heat for about a minute.

pesto <3

Add the 1/2 cup pasta cooking water and simmer for about 6 minutes until reduced by half.  Add the cream to the pan and simmer until thickened, for about five minutes.  Toss in the peas and pasta and coat with the sauce.

pretty

Remove from heat, plate, garnish with cheese and serve!

told ya it was easy

 

3 responses »

  1. Leslie says:

    Mandy,
    Looks yummy. I could eat it for breakfast right now!

  2. Sydney says:

    i would like to request this for the next meal you make me :)

Leave a Reply

